Agios Nicolaos and Agios Charalambos (St. Nicolaos and St. Charalambos) Verified

Add to favorites

A two-nave, semi-rock-hewn cave church in Skoteino village. The north nave, which is built lower than the south one, is dedicated to St. Nicolas and the south one to St. Charalambos. Inside, the church is of an uneven shape, due to the carving.

The two naves are connected to each other with a large arched opening. The north nave is longer than the south one, and on the west it ends up to a small rock-hewn space, separated from the main church, where there are icons. According to tradition, this space served as a secret school during the Ottoman Rule.

On the north wall of the north nave there is a showcase, where old ecclesiastical objects are kept. The sanctuaries of the two naves are connected with a low and narrow opening. The iconostases of both naves date back to 1891 and are adorned with the icons of Panagia Vrefokratoussa (Infant Holder), Christ Enthroned, St. Nicolas, the Creation of Adam and Eve, the Expulsion from the Garden of Eden, (on the south) St. Charalambos, Panagia Vrefokratoussa (the Wider than the Heavens), the Holy Trinity, St. John the Baptist and the Temptation of Adam.

On the iconostasis of the south nave, there is an inscription that substitutes an icon and records the names of the people who served as commissioners at the time it was made. On the south of the church, there is an ancillary space, which is also rock-hewn, while a bit more to the south, there is the parish office.

Architecture: two-nave semi-rock-hewn cave
Dating: 1639
Location: Skoteino – in the village
Celebration: 6th December – 10th February
Hagiography: NO
Access: Easy
Visit Options: Closed. Visitors should contact the priest George Christakis, tel. +30 2817 704 307

No street view available at Google maps.